What is the Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III Award?
The Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III is the highest honor bestowed by the ISA New England
Chapter. It is given in recognition of outstanding service in advancing the principles,
ideals, and practices of arboriculture. The award is granted to a dedicated and
active member of the Chapter who has made seminal contributions to arboriculture,
either through work in the organization, research, education, field practice or
promotion. The award is limited to no more than one individual in a single year.

Benefits of receiving the Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III Award
Recipients receive recognition at the New England Chapter ISA Conference &
Tradeshow luncheon, followed by recognition in the tree care industry through
press releases, the NEC-ISA website, and articles in the NEC-ISA quarterly
newsletter and other NEC-ISA publications.

How do I submit a nomination?
Nomination forms are available on the NEC-ISA website. Submit them electronically
by emailing, or print and submit them via mail to: NEC-
ISA, P.O. Box 435, Norwell, MA 02061

Nomination Deadline
August 31st

Email or call Heather Leff at 978-844-0441.

Know of someone in your community? Use the form below or
Click here to download a nomination form! (Adobe PDF)
New England Chapter
International Society of Arboriculture
2017 - Melissa LeVangie
The 2017 Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III Award was presented to Melissa
LeVangie. Melissa holds several certifications including ISA (Arborist
and Tree Climber Specialist), MCA, NH, CTSP, and the ISA TRAQ Qualification.
She has
consulted in various aspects of our sector. She has served on the NEC-ISA Board in
various capacities and on the boards of other arboricultural organizations. She
serves as Tree Warden for the Town of Petersham. Melissa created the Women’s
Tree Climbing Workshop,
the first wood bank in Massachusetts, and the Safety
Saves program for the Mass Arborists Association. Melissa’s seminal contributions to

the field of Arboriculture are vast and the New England Chapter Board of Directors
was truly honored to present this highly prestigious award to her.

Visit the NEC-ISA on Facebook!
P.O. Box 435
Norwell, MA 02061
Phone: 978-844-0441
Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III
Dr. H. Dennis P. Ryan III,
Professor Emeritus, was the
Coordinator of the
Arboriculture/Urban Forestry
Program at the University of
Massachusetts - Amherst and
served in academia as a
faculty member for over 30

Dr. Ryan was the Executive
Director of Forestry and
Horticulture for the Parks
Department of the City of
New York and is a former
Chair of the ANSI Z–133
Arboricultural Safety
Committee. In addition to his
academic and municipal
leadership, Dr. Ryan worked
as a commercial arborist for
ten years and continues a
longstanding tradition of
arboricultural consulting in the
area of tree and arboricultural-
related accidents.
Dr. H.P. Dennis Ryan